What is Trauma?

  

Given this is a trauma blog and not, say a turquoise necklace aficionados blog (which I would also be happy to write) I figured a few definitions might be in order. 

What the heck is trauma exactly?  Let’s start there. 

  • Stress, Trauma and PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) exist on a continuum

On one end we have stress.  We all have felt stress before.  My recent example:    

Some jerk unkind human stole the cash and debit cards out of my purse a few weeks back.   I had to call the fraud department at the banks, cancel my cards and walk around with cash because I didn’t have access to the checking account cards after cancelling them (of course I totally forgot until writing this blog that I could have just carried my check book with me—duh!).   That was stress.  I didn’t take it (too) personally and didn’t get paranoid after it happened.  I thought of the whole experience as unpleasant, but aside from the sixty bucks in cash they stole I didn’t lose money and felt more annoyance and inconvenience than loss.

  • Stress falls under the umbrella of slightly unusual, annoying situations that take time and energy to resolve but which do resolve over time—
  • Or situations which do not resolve over time but are impersonal.  

Big deadlines at work, a temporary dental or medical problem, miscommunication with a friend or loved one, or working in a job setting with layoffs brewing are all examples of stressful situations. 

While pursuing my clinical licensure I worked for a community based mental health clinic (which shall not be named) with constant turnover, downright kooky administration, exponential caseloads, and such paltry pay that the janitors in the janitors union (???) which we were bizarrely compulsory members of (??!!!) made substantially more than us master’s level therapists (which is not to say that janitors deserve anything less than a living wage).  

Why does it matter that a stressful situation that cannot be solved is not personal

Because then you are not alone with your thoughts and feelings.  When I worked at the Unnamed Community Mental Health Clinic, all of us line staff were in the same boat and we supported and commiserated together.  

Now over ten years later many of us still talk, refer clients to each other, consult cases and get together socially.  From the stress of the situation we created a network of support to survive emotionally, and in time as we all left the original stressor our social support transformed from necessary to life enhancing.   

So how is trauma different than stress

  • Trauma is an overwhelming frightening experience which can range in severity from relatively mild such as being rear ended in a low speed car accident to major individual experience such as being sexually violated, beaten, shot at, etc.. or a collective major traumatic experience such as being in the world trade center on 9-11-01. 
  • The difference between stress and trauma is the level of overwhelm, fear and feelings of helplessness
  • Bessel Van Der Kolk (Grand Pooh-bah in the field of traumatology) says the difference between a stressful normal event and trauma is a feeling of helplessness to change the outcome
    • ie:  Trauma involves that sick sense of watching something terrible happen to ourselves (hello dissociation!)  or someone else and not being able to do a darn thing about it. 

 What is PTSD?

  • PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) is a DELAYED psychological reaction to experiencing or witnessing a traumatic event that is outside the realm of normal human experiences. 

Thus, you cannot claim the state of your child’s bedroom is causing you PTSD.  (But go ahead and try and let me know if it works as I have two messy little rug rats of my own and I’m always looking for ways to encourage cleanliness.)

  • Individuals with PTSD demonstrate a range of symptoms including difficulty concentrating, flashbacks, feeling emotionally blunted/numb, being hyperalert/jumpy, feeling as though everything is unreal, experiencing nightmares and sleep disturbances.

I like to use raccoon eyes as a diagnostic tool.  When I meet with a client for the first time if they look like they are being poked from behind with a sharp stick, their speech is rapid and fractured and their eyes look perpetually surprised I can be fairly sure they are in the grips of PTSD. 

A subtle but important difference between stresses versus traumas is our ability to talk about the experience without feeling shame or (much) bitterness.  “This is the worst thing that ever happened to me” and “If only” points to trauma, where as a shrug along with “that sucked” points to stress. 

  • An important choice we can strive for to promote mental health and prevent stress from becoming trauma is not to take difficult situations personally. 

From where I sit typing this blog, in the aggressively air-conditioned place I have come to regard as the World’s Coldest Starbucks with the Loudest Music System Ever, rubbing my hands together to restore circulation and wishing for noise cancelling headset and a downy parka in the middle of July, I’m feeling a wee bit stressed out from the intensity of cold and noise.  Fortunately I know the baristas are trying to turn everyone here equally into deaf human popsicles and not just me. 

 

One comment on “What is Trauma?

  1. Tanya; I’m not sure how I found your blog, perhaps via Michele at Healmyptsd,LLC…regardless I appreciate that you share here and the topic!

    An informative post today…hope you were able to warm up!

Leave a Reply

