3 comments on “Mistaking the Branch for the Tree

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mistaking the Branch for the Tree « Trauma Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I love this article! I’m a High School Teacher and an artist and I often get frustrated at our public school system placing more value on academic intelligence than any other types of intelligence. I see children who are failing most of their courses yet their notebooks are covered with beautiful drawings, writings or inventions. These children are ofter written off by the majority of the teachers because instead of doing the class work (which is usually boring) they are busy creating. So these “misfits” are pressured to conform rather than explore their unique gifts.
    I guess the field of teaching attracks a certain personality type that values knowledge, order and respect for certain conventions. I just kind of fell into the profession because I was available. I was available because instead of getting my college degree in art, which was my first love, I settled for something more grown up and practical.

Leave a Reply

