29 thoughts on “Social Anxiety Disorder

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your book; I went through social anxiety for a portion of my life and it was no fun, to say the least. I wrote a self-help autobiography and I touch on certain examples of when the anxiety took over me. I then go into how I mitigated the issues. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Hello Tanya,
    Very interesting, I am a freshmen in school this calendar year and I am rather certain I have social stress condition. I don’t undoubtedly want to discuss to my mom and dad about seeing a psychiatrist to get medication. I do not have insurance policies or nearly anything but I would be willing to devote some moolah to go to a psychiatrist and get meds. How will ideally i procedure this predicament and how a lot of would it cost to see a psychiatrist and get antidepressants?
    I look forward to your next post

    1. Hi Angela: if you are a freshman in college, I would encourage you to see your school medical clinic for therapy and possible medication. If you are a highschool freshman I would suggest you see your medical doctor and ask for a referral to a local theapist. Start with therapy before resorting to medication as often times symptoms can resolve with mental health services alone and not require psychotropic medication. Best of luck to you and let me know how you are doing!

  3. Hi Tanya,
    Social anxiety affects so many people yet most are unwilling to seek treatment because they see themselves are defective. Your book sounds like it will be great. 🙂

  4. I feel guilty that every time I have to go to a social event I suffer through a panic attack. My heart begins to race, my head light, and I just feel nauseous. I hate feeling so horrible each time I want to try to go out somewhere. I am battling to overcome this anxiety and I think sites like http://onlineceucredit.com/edu/social-work-ceus-tpa are helpful because I am finding ways to help myself not feel so overwhelmed before leaving my house. I definitely think it’s making a difference in my life and I encourage you to take a look!

  5. All of those disorders seem to go together–I don’t know how, really, to separate one from the other. It’s almost like there is one superordinate disorder–call it malaise or something like that–and these other disorders are its overlapping parts. It’s the same funk, the same fog–but I find I need individual treatment for each one. Successful treatment for depression and ADD does nothing for my anxiety! I am looking forward to reading your book.

    To the girl who is a freshman in college: Make sure you tell the health clinic in specific terms what you are feeling. Years ago, my university’s clinic refused to treat me as they were convinced I needed to go to a college more in line with my social class standing. They really said that…

    1. Hi Kilian: To me personal evolution seems to parallel whack-a-mole, that circus game where one mole pops up and you hit it on the head and it goes down and another one pops up. I like your concept of unifying mental illness too. I guess the real message here is that we are never done growing and developing our abilities to be human, authentic, and connected to the world around us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

