3 comments on “Summer Boundaries

  1. I love this! OGD ha ha! You are a delightful funny writer. And, I can so relate to the whole story. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Oh, how I relate to Seasonal Gardening Disorder! I recently realized that it was time to trot out my dusty old pre cell phone watch and wear it while gardening. There’s something quite powerful about numbers when it comes to making boundaries for ourselves. Setting that number goal creates an increased awareness of the choices we’re making, and in my case, prevents me from being completely hornswoggled by my OCD tendencies, which make me say things to myself like, “But I just want to get to the end of this border! Those ‘I will smite you if you continue’ signals from my back must be ignored!” Like you, I’ve set a new goal. No more than an hour and a half at a go. I would like to actually experience some fun this summer, and limiting my gardening time is the only way that’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

